Food and location

One of my favourite things is to eat good food!  If you know me, you know I enjoy quantity too, but actually its the quality that is most important.  When I’m at home I don’t pretend to be a master chef (ok I do pretend!) but aside from producing meals that others politely tell me they enjoy, I prefer to go out to eat.  I will eat almost anything and want to impress how good the food was here, I do eat meat and so if you are reading this and don’t for whatever reason, then please don’t be offended…

Recently, I was in France and had a tasty meal in the town of Caen which was good, but in my experience if you drive away from the big towns and cities and find a nice quiet rural restaurant, you can find a really superb meal waiting to be served.  I discovered this when I went to Sainte Marie Du Mont, in Normandy, France.  There was a lovely restaurant with welcoming staff, and a relaxed friendly atmosphere (and no I’m not on commission!)

IMG_1492.JPG

I’ve always found french food very tasty, there are many famous Chefs that are household names over here in England such as  the Roux brothers and Raymond Blanc.  However, this quaint little gem delivered good quality food, at affordable prices and tasted great.  The starter for me was a slightly nostalgic affair since it was ‘Delice du Perigord’ (Delights from the Perigord region of france) and I’d enjoyed a family holiday in that region years ago.  I thought the plate looked amazing with pan-seared duck liver, foie gras, and smoked duck breast, and tasted so good!

IMG_1494.JPG

I was happy that the starter was a decent size too since I always get disappointed if its gourmet food and half a tomato on a lettuce leaf turns up!  As you might expect, the foie gras (goose pate) is rich, but as a delicacy was fantastic.

The main course didn’t let me down either, I always enjoy a steak and this one was  8oz char grilled and was ‘melt in your mouth’ juicy and tender, just how I like it, with fries, and the perfect amount of peppercorn sauce.  In my book it scores very highly, especially as it’s something I wouldn’t normally cook at home, so its a pleasure to enjoy when out.

IMG_1495.JPG

For the dessert I quite often go for something heavy, with sauce but for a change I opted for something a lot lighter, a creme brulee, and I could tell it was freshly made.  It was light, creamy and had a beautifully glazed melted sugary top which cracked apart with the spoon allowing for the lovely crunch as the spoon cracks the top and you eat it.  Served with ice cream and a ginger flavoured biscuit, really good.

IMG_1496.JPG

After the meal I looked around me and saw the village was a place where the Tour de France had come through a week or so ago and so bicycles were everywhere!  A really nice friendly little village and I recommend it thoroughly.

IMG_1497.JPG

Standard

One thought on “Food and location

Leave a Reply

